I Heart Faces~Christmas Traditions

We’ve had an “Elf on the Shelf” for three years now, and he has brought many fun things to our Christmas season. From mischief (toilet-papering the living room, making a snow angel in sugar on the kitchen counter) to memories (he brings our gingerbread house each year, and this year he put all of the candy canes on our Christmas tree), Cheewee provides daily entertainment. He helps us all to believe in the magic of Christmas with all of the special things that he brings. One of the most special came to us today:

Our elf Cheewee came back from the North Pole this morning bearing the golden ticket! It’s time again this year for “The Polar Van Express”, and we should have a perfect night for it. We’ll pack up our Bing Christmas CD and some hot chocolate to go and ride around looking at Christmas lights until we’ve had our fill. There seem to be more homes decorated this year, so we might need to pack a thermos of hot chocolate for refills. Maybe even some peppermint sugar cookies (man cannot live by hot chocolate alone!). It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…..

And today (Monday), I can update with a couple of pictures from our PVE adventure. First came the preparation of cookies and hot chocolate (and the inevitable swatting of the cookie monster…):

and then came the lights:

(there always has to be a Griswold house!)

For more posts highlighting holiday traditions, head over to I Heart Faces and click on the links! Oh, and Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Hanukkah, and whatever other holiday greeting may apply to you!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a fun evening planned and reminds me that we should go out one night soon and look at Christmas lights.

    Of course, if anyone came by OUR woefully underdecorated house, they would only need one half of one sip of hot chocolate and they would have seen everything there is to see.

    Enjoy this time home with your fine son. (And I loved his nativity.)

    Reply

  2. Looks like fun! :) We went out looking at lights last week…so much fun! :)

    Reply

  3. I just now heard of the “elf on the shelf”! I am going to have to try that next year… maybe it will make my kids be good. ha! Merry Christmas!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sherri on December 21, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Very cute idea. Love the Christmas Elf.

    Reply

  5. Your house is the coolest house ever! My poor kids don’t have a fun elf on a shelf. Now, I’m guessing you might tell me that I need to get me one of those, but I have a sneaky suspicion that an elf on the shelf = a whole lotta work for momma. :)

    Reply

  6. Sweet idea.

    Reply

  7. I think it is such a wonderful idea this elf on the shelf! I want to do it next year too! You inspired me Pam! thank you! THANK YOU! tHaNk YoU! You are the coolest!

    Reply

  8. Merry Christmas tou you and your family!

    Reply

  9. Wow! So much fun. I love the lights — they’re really amazing. I wish we had such good displays here in the small town I live in.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! I really appreciate your encouragement. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  10. I love the Polar Van Express idea! And the ticket is adorable. Looks like a fun evening.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

