SOOC Saturday–The Guardian

She sits in the tree nearest the feeder, fiercely guarding the precious, life-giving red nectar. When other hummingbirds approach, she takes off like an arrow, chasing them away before they have a chance to snatch even a sip. She knows that soon, she will take off on a journey that humans can’t even imagine, flying thousands of miles over the Gulf to Mexico. Godspeed, little jewel; you are truly a princess warrior.

For more SOOC (straight out of the camera, no editing or cropping allowed) pictures and perspectives, visit Melody at Slurping Life.

13 responses to this post.

  1. OH! Hummingbirds are my absolute favorite! That is a lovely capture. Well done.

    Reply

  2. This is gorgeous!!
    I love hummingbirds!

    Best,
    Lisa

    Reply

  3. Well this little Jewelz, things that little jewel is precious….
    Amazing capture. I L♡VE everything about it!
    We unfortunately, are not blessed with hummingbirds in Australia :0(

    Thanks for the lovely comment over at my place. Now I ‘sort of get’ what you meant by doing a photo book…and I think it’s an awesome idea. However, you clearly have some idea of what you would do in your mind…would you mind dropping me a line…or popping back to my place and sharing your idea in more detail. I think it’s a great idea…as a mother AND an educator.

    Thank you for sharing your photos and your thoughts

    Cheers
    Jewelz

    Reply

  4. GORGEOUS picture and lovely thought
    She is a beauty

    Reply

  5. Great shot Pam D.

    Are you absolutely certain sure that it is a she???? LOL

    Reply

  6. Fabulous capture! I love hummingbirds and have never been able to photograph them properly.

    Fly little one. Safe journey.

    Reply

  7. Just beautiful!!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sue G on September 5, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Beautiful. Both the photo and the fact that you noticed. Two of life’s precious gifts…skill and knowledge.

    Reply

  9. WOW oh WOW.

    I had no idea what a treat I was in for, clicking over here.

    You went all professional National Geographic on me! That is just stunning.

    I love those jewel tones and how she blends yet stands out from the foliage.

    (Though your captions made me recall a teacher’s claims that hummingbirds were actually pretty mean creatures, ha ha).

    Just stunning… I hope one day they have a theme on Iheartfaces for you to blow them away with this shot.

    Unbelievable, my friend. Truly frameworthy.

    Reply

  10. And please ignore my dear Mr. Daddy. He should know that if she’s standing guard over some yummy food, it most definitely IS a she. Just sayin’ 🙂

    Reply

  11. You know me I just can’t stay out of it…LOL

    That might be an Anna’s hummingbird (Calypte anna) and not a Rufous Hummingbird (Selasphorus rufus)

    I am by no means a hummingbird expert, but I looked it up. If it is you are in luck as this particular breed is a resident bird, and they say that it’s habitat is increasing. It’s original range was along the Pacific Coast from northern Baja California to San Francisco Bay: now breeds north to Vancouver Island, East to Arizona.

    maybe you have been blessed with a resident hummingbird.

    I know that we have them around here, but I can’t remember seeing one other than in the spring or summer.

    I am not saying that it is for sure but the coloring is sure more to the Anna’s than the Rufuos.

    No matter which one it is, it is a great shot…And you have Rach all jealous of your new lense…(thanks for the great idea for next Christmas or her Birthday) LOL

    Reply

  12. Awesome catch on this little guy. I love hummingbirds. They are so full of energy and life…..so much fun to watch. Thanks for sharing.
    Pam

    Reply

  13. Very lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

