I Heart Faces-Sunflare at Sunset

So, the contest theme this week is “Sunflare”. I’m all over the board on this one, with HUGE sunflare in some photos (click here to see the other photo I thought about using) but the face is too dark; or very little sunflare but the face is at least OK. Crazy stuff. But I’m learning, so I guess that makes me a winner, no matter what. This was not only a new process (sunflare), but I edited in PaintShopPro X2 (new program) using a RAW picture (scary). A trifecta of “why I should not enter these contests!” but I’m doing it anyway, because I LOVE “I Heart Faces”! So, go there now and look at the other entries so you can see what sunflare really SHOULD look like! Oh, wait.. can you leave me a little comment love first? I’ve been feeling a bit neglected lately.. *sniff*

22 responses to this post.

  1. oh i absolutely LOVE your entry! the trees are perfectly blurry but the little flare next to his cheek–soo cool!

    I’m so sorry you are feeling neglected! I totally dropped the ball this week, claimed pregnancy laziness, and never replied to anyone that left comments. The horrible thing is, I felt guilty about not commenting (ehhh, i STILL feel guilty about it!) all week! So maybe i’ll go back to last week’s post and leave you some love there, too :0

    Reply

  2. Pam! I really love this. And by really I mean OH MY GOSH this is the most perfect picture EVER! I think you are such a great photographer and you keep getting BETTER and BETTER! I am super duper glad to know you and I always love seeing your work!

    Reply

  3. This is gorgeous. I love the beautiful bokeh and how the sun reflected against his chin. You did a great job with this one!

    Reply

  4. I didn’t even recognize your son by the angle. Now I can say hi like I really know you. I’m such a goof. Could it be that I’m up a wee bit too late? BTW, you totally captured the essence of the paper I’m writing. I was collecting homework at school one day realizing that once again only half the kids were turning it in. I stopped to think about it and realized that the kids who weren’t turning it in were ones with learning disabilities and/or came from low income homes. A few minutes of thinking about it made me realize that this process of homework is for the birds! πŸ™‚ It’s totally not reaching the intended audience, so I’m thinking schools need to change. Like you said, though, finding the better way is the true challenge.

    Anyway, I’m heading to bed. Parent-teacher meeting until 8 p.m. tomorrow! 😦

    Reply

  5. Really lovely, WOW!

    Reply

  6. gorgeous! I especially love the tree leave bokeh (awesome!) and the starlight flare adorning his chin :-).

    Reply

  7. It’s a lovely subtle sun flare portrait amazing capture.
    I always thought sunflare ruined photos πŸ˜‰ not now ! I am a novice too and I intend to learn more about photoshop and RAW πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Perfect. I love the subtle sunflare.

    Reply

  9. I like this one, too but I think the other one captures the flare better. Plus the other face is more expressive. It may be dark but I like it. This one is very sweet.

    Reply

  10. I love this! I love how you captured him, it looks like he’s talking to someone outside our view. The little sunflare is just gorgeous. Great job!

    Reply

  11. Don’t feel neglected. This is absolutely gorgeous.

    Reply

  12. I love the little twinkle on his chin πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Are you kidding when you say this is why you shouldn’t enter these contests?! Yours is one of the first photos I look for on the weekly challenges. What a great angle you used!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Pam on November 23, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Beautiful pic. Very nicely done.
    Pam

    Reply

  15. Oh! I heart the Bokeh!

    Reply

  16. How adorable! Love the emotion you captured! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. Great entry and i love the flare on this one and your other picture.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Dana on November 23, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    WOOHOOOO!!! You did BEAUTIFULLY!! I think you are SO BRAVE for doing RAW! OMGosh, I’ve never done that! EEK! Not sure if I’m brave enough! LOL

    You have beautiful BOKEH baby!!

    Reply

  19. Beautiful! The angle, the bokeh, the sun flare . . . WOW! What a super shot!

    Reply

  20. this one is really telling story! nice πŸ™‚

    u may view mine if u have time

    Reply

  21. Hi!
    Your picture is so cute!
    great shot!
    ΖΈΜ΅Μ‘ΣœΜ΅Μ„Μ¨Ζ·

    Reply

  22. Another great shot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

