I might be a little excited….


“Hello, my name is Pam, and I am a photoaholic, all because of I Heart Faces.” Yep, I can see myself standing in front of a room full of ladies, like Andrea, Becky ,Becca, Suki, Rachel, Pam, Dana, Jana, Jessica, Elaine, and a host of others with whom I share my favorite spot on the web. All of us hopelessly addicted to digital SLRs and photo editing programs (can I get a holla for FINALLY getting Photoshop Elements up and running? boooyah!) after hanging out week after week at the best photo site around. And today, one of my fantasies is actually coming true; Amy and Angie have asked me to be one of the guest fan judges for this week’s “Hilarious Outtakes!” photo challenge! When I was named as “Fan of the Week” last year, I thought that I had reached the pinnacle of success at IHF. But to be asked to actuallly judge photos? Makes me smile and itch (as I break out in hives) at the same time. Which is NOT a real pretty mental image; sorry. Anyway, the lovely ladies at IHF have asked me to fill out the following Guest Fan Judge Questionnaire,so here goes:

My name: Pam Doughty, or Pam D

Links to my websites:  Well, you’re here at my photoblog, but I also have a site at blogger that was my original blog, Life by the Creek.  I post over here mainly for IHF contests and to showcase my favorite photos.  I also have a Facebook page and love to connect with friends over there.

Description of myself: If I hadn’t had to take a self-portrait for this post, I might have been somewhat kind. But after 2 or 24 long-arm shots and the realization that my arm would NEVER stretch long enough to get away from the horrifying wrinkles, I resorted to the wrinkle remover and make thinner tools in Picnik and just let it go.  It’s really funny how a camera can capture what you simply refuse to see in a mirror.  But, I love my husband, son and dog, my church and my son’s awesome school, Cub Scouts, and photography, and those things keep me young in SPITE of what my skin may say.

Photography journey:  I took photography classes in high school (in, umm.. the 70’s, y’all) using a Minolta SLR.  I actually enrolled in college as a photography major, but I ended up graduating with a degree in Broadcast Journalism.  I put photography away for a decade, but then my wonderful hubby got me a Nikon SLR in 1990 and I got back into taking pictures.  In 2004, I finally went digital with a Fugi FinePix that served me well.  UNTIL I found I Heart Faces a year ago and began to crave something better and with interchangeable lenses.  I have moved ahead in my photography more in the past year than in the 49 before it, and it’s all because of the guidance and challenge that I find at IHF.

Favorite online photographer: Y’all, I almost didn’t put this one in here, because there are SO many wonderful photographers that I’ve met through this site. Some are pros, some aren’t, but all are great. And yet, there is one that I discovered on my first visit to IHF who has influenced me in so many ways; as I’ve watched her grow into a totally amazing photographer, I’ve dared to dream that I can one day find within myself the beauty that I see in her.  If you haven’t visited Dana at From Chaos to Grace, please stop by her blog and take a look at her beautiful creations.  And read her writing, too; she runs deep, and I love her muchly.

Camera Equipment and Editing Programs: I currently use a Canon Rebel XSi.  I have the kit lens and a pretty crummy zoom that came with the camera in a package deal; neither one is great.  For my birthday last year, I got the Canon 50mm 1.4 lens and it rarely comes off my camera now.  But I am in serious need of a good sports lens, so that’s my “this year birthday wish” (hi, honey… I know you’ll read this since I told you that I get to be a guest judge… so “hint hint”!).   Up until the past week or so, I’ve used a multitude of editing programs, mainly depending on Picasa, Picnik, and Microsoft Digital Image Suite.  I just got a new computer and Photoshop Elements and am having a blast!

Now, since I’m judging, I don’t get to compete this week.  Which is kind of ironic, because I didn’t compete in the last “Hilarious Outtakes” contest because I missed the deadline by about an hour.  But, I do get to put some outtakes in this post, and I’m going to use some of the ones that I had planned to use last time. Mainly because I’m lazy I really want y’all to see the pictures this time around.  And there are a couple of different ones, too:

First is my handsome hubby, playing kickball with the kids. Ahhh… when you got it, you never lose it.. right, honey?

“I got your “ho, ho, ho”, kid….”

And, at a den meeting, the little brother of one of the scouts gave me an unintentional hand signal right as I snapped his picture:

Here, my boy just got a glimpse of my first ever attempt at using clippers:

And, finally, I might feel just a twinge of envy for those folks with the lovely little girls who LOVE to dress up and pose. Cause for me, this is as good as it gets:

To wrap it all up, if you haven’t figured it out by now, I heart I Heart Faces. I heart Amy and Angie (and Andrea, too!); I heart the friends I’ve met through the site. I guess the weekly challenge is what keeps me coming back, because it forces me to really stretch myself and learn new things. But I Heart Faces is so much more than a competition; it’s a community that will always hold a special place in MY heart.

41 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats! That is awesome! And when you listed your names you left off Pam 2, or the other Pam! Great photo’s by the way.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dana on February 27, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I AM MUCHO proud of you!! YAY!!!! This is HUGE! And I’ll tell you, your photography has come SO FAR! You are an incredible photographer now, my friend! It’s been a wonderful journey watching you grow.

    And I am humbled beyond words to read this! Gosh, you’re gonna make me all weepy now! I’m such a sappy sally! I am honored to call you friend!

    Reply

  3. Posted by christy rose on February 27, 2010 at 10:58 am

    How fun! What an opportunity!! But I am not sure I could handle the pressure of all of the great pictures that I see people put in these contests. There are some truly gifted photographers out there. 🙂 You included! 🙂

    Reply

  4. WOW!!! congrats Pam D. You take a great pic, but also write a great story….

    Not bad for someone who survived the 60’s *sicker*

    I am not sure who found who’s blog. So I don’t know WHO is WHOM in blogsville, But I am quite certain that our home is a LOT more happy and blessed for having you in our bloggy lives.

    I agree about Dana! she is a treasure….

    Reply

  5. Oh Pam, you are just the perfect example of the wonderful people who are attracted to I Heart Faces. I love ya Lady! Thanks so much for helping us out by being a Guest Fan Judge this week. *smooches*

    ~Angie
    co-founder of I Heart Faces

    Reply

  6. I am SO excited for you to be a judge Pam! You are a wonderful person. Not only are your pictures fantastic they are getting better and better each week : ).

    The thing I love the best about you is not that you are a great picture taker though. The thing I love the bestest is that you are an encourager. You encourage every person you visit with warm and heartfelt comments. You make I Heart Faces a better place. I am SO thankful that so many people get blessed by you and your lovely words each week!

    AND, I love your pictures and your honey : )

    Reply

  7. Oh Pam, I am so SUPER excited for you. You are certainly the best blogging friend one could now. You deserve such a special treat like this. You are amazing, the love and compassion you show for all things is amazing.

    Loved your outtakes by the way.

    Love and hugs,

    Elaine

    Reply

  8. I am beyond proud of you, love you so much.

    Reply

  9. MISS PAM!!!! CONGRATS how awesome! I am so looking forward to see who you pick! Youre gonna get such a good laugh out of this!

    Reply

  10. Congratulations, Pam. You deserve this and so much more. The passion you have for photography, life, and family…coupled with your compassionate nature and lovely sense of humor…well, you deserve this (as I already said).

    Hey, did I mention you deserve this?

    Now maybe it’s time for YOU to recognize your own work just as we have always recognized it. (YOu know, instead of telling us what’s wrong with it???)

    Love you!

    Reply

  11. Congrats Pam, you deserve it!! And no I am NOT sucking up to you

    Reply

  12. Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness!

    BOO-YAH! That’s my girl!

    I am so stinkin’ proud of you, it isn’t even funny. Well, except for all the funny you cram into most every post.

    Not to mention, the giggles I get from your comments that I find liberally sprinkled throughout the best of the blogosphere.

    I am so proud to be your friend and I am SO pumped that you get to be the guest judge.

    Does that mean I have an “in”??? 🙂

    Reply

  13. Wow so exciting for you to be a guest judge! 🙂 you are the sweetest and you totally deserve it!!! 🙂 Great outtakes – that first one of your hubby totally cracks me up!

    Reply

  14. Congrats on being a guest judge this week! You will have a blast. Trust me though, it was much harder for me than I thought it would be. Fun, but hard to choose! Best wishes.

    Reply

  15. haha love these photos!! congrats!!

    Reply

  16. lol…that Santa picture is cracking me up! Have fun being a guest judge this week!

    Reply

  17. Love them…especially the unintentional finger!

    Reply

  18. great outtakes, the first two are my favorites!

    Reply

  19. Those are great! That shot of your husband made me smile. Gotta love a parent who plays like that with their kiddos.

    Reply

  20. OMGosh…that Santa one kills me! LMBO here!

    Reply

  21. Holy cow… you’re entries are hilarious for sure!!! The one of your husband is the funniest. ha! We’re so excited to have you judging this week:-)

    Reply

  22. I enjoyed a lot! Gotta take some pictures like that, too!

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  23. Ha! That last one is funny (in a scary eewww….sorta way ;D) The bored Santa shot is also a classic!
    Hope you have fun this week!

    Reply

  24. yeah, i have a daughter just like yours – don’t have this exact photo but i have many similar – lol! i also love the santa shot – what a hoot is that!

    Reply

  25. welcome as a guest judge this week! that santa shot is HILARIOUS!!!

    Reply

  26. Hah love the Santa shot! Congrats on the honors, I’ve enjoyed reading your ‘interview’!

    Reply

  27. You may not get to compete this week (though judging is a pretty good “consolation” prize), but those are still some AWESOME shots! I think that first one is my favorite, closely followed by the clippers shot.

    Reply

  28. Wow that last shot sure would make a great Halloween card. 😉 Got the zombie look going on. And that shot with Santa where both of them look a little like do I know this guy? That’s just hilarious. 🙂

    Reply

  29. Love every single last one of these (especially the last).

    Reply

  30. Love all of these (maybe the last one is a bit gruesome!) ~ such uncanny shots! 😀

    Reply

  31. congrats on being guest judge this week! I love your outtakes!

    Reply

  32. love the santa one lol if looks could kill!

    Reply

  33. Andrea who? 🙂 I think this is the perfect theme for you to judge because I always know that I’ll get a laugh when visiting your blog. I wish you were able to compete though too because you have some good ones in there. The Santa one looks like a classic from that Awkward Family Photos site.

    Reply

  34. I am with you on your love for iheartfaces 🙂 You sound like a fun loving, down to earth kinda lady and I’ll be keeping up with your photos! Congrats on the guest judge title! Check out my entry for a good laugh!

    Reply

  35. I enjoyed reading your questionaire…fun pics too! Your story is inspiring.

    Reply

  36. Those first two especially crack me up! I love it when there’s a good caption!

    Reply

  37. Love your outtakes!! LOL!! Especially the second one!! That picture sure says a thousand words!!

    Reply

  38. Your photos are so funny! Oh my goodness – I just love the looks on the faces of the “Santa” one. I’m still laughing about that one! Could they look more bored with each other? LOL!

    Reply

  39. Posted by Yolanda on March 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Can I just say that Santa photo is beyond awesome? I mean they both look like they’re hating life. So fantastic.

    Reply

  40. Thank you so much for choosing my photo for the challenge!!! Love your pictures too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

