It takes all kinds…

e_MG_1929 crop with sig

I wanted to take more pictures of the hummingbirds, so I was sitting quietly in a chair on the back deck. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw movement. I thought maybe a hummer was flying next to me, checking out my camera. But when I carefully turned to look, this strange creature had landed on the arm of the chair next to me. So, I took advantage of the situation and snapped his picture. Don’t know quite what he is, but as far as bugs go, he’s quite the model. He might not be as lovely as a hummingbird, but I’m still glad he dropped in for a portrait!

10 responses to this post.

  1. wow, looks like some sort of dragonfly-wasp hybrid. I would say ewwww, but maybe that would be offensive…so I won’t say ewwwwwwwwwwww.

    Reply

  2. Pam, I hadn’t looked through ALL your recent pictures in a little while. What a feast for the eyes and a treasure for the heart.

    I tell ya, at some point in my life, I’m going to have to learn Photo Shop. I have Elements 6 but have gotten overwhelmed every time I’ve looked at it. You just do such incredible things with it. And with your camera.

    And I loved your Pam Doughty Photography trademark; cool!

    Love
    Becky

    Reply

  3. Totally awesome.

    Reply

  4. Oh. My. Heart! See, not only are people near and far dying for your portraits…even little unknown bugs are. You are amazing πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Wow. I’ve got the willies. But that’s a great shot of whatever that thing is. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Posted by Dana on August 7, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    That is COOL!! We have those and they always scare me! LOL

    Reply

  7. Posted by Pam on August 8, 2010 at 9:24 am

    As always, awesome shot P2! Strange looking creature.

    Reply

  8. SO COOL!! Great shot!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  9. Love this bug!

    Reply

  10. Woohoo! I actually know what this is. It’s a robberfly. A lady on Ning took a picture of one and posted it to see if anyone knew what it was. Being the obsessive person I am, I searched the internet until I figured it out. πŸ™‚

    http://iheartfaces.ning.com/forum/topics/does-any-one-know

    Reply

Leave a Reply

