The artist

Wow. This is NOT a photo entry. No contest, no pic that I just HAVE to put out there for everyone to see. It’s just something that God laid on my heart, and it seems like it’s been a long time since He’s done that. I had … HAD.. to come down here and type this out before it left me. It happened a while back, but I was turning it over and over in my mind tonight and finally saw what God was trying to get me to see.
Adam was drawing. It was a person, and he had taken a fair bit of time to draw the detail and to make it perfect. In his image and his likeness. It was a boy, and it was good. It was very good. Except that the dog… well, she… ruined it. She did. She was greedy and searching for snacks, and she nosed a book on the table that pushed another book over the drawing, and there was a smudge. Dark, dirty, and, well, just plain ugly.
In the past, the boy would have simply cumpled the paper in disgust and thrown it in the trash. He would probably even have quit drawing, stomping off to do something else. But this time was different. He picked up the paper, and I waited for the outburst and the fury. But instead, he looked at it, and he said “But it’s too good to tear up!”. So he picked up an eraser, and he gently and carefully removed the stains that had ruined the picture. And then, his hand moved over the paper as he restored the image.
It was just tonight that I remembered this vividly; it’s been a while since it happened. At the time, I was just thankful that he had finally learned to control his temper; that he no longer totally destroyed work that frustrated him. But tonight, as I stood in the kitchen washing up the remains of pot roast and potatoes, I realized that God gave me a giimpse of Him. I had been thinking “Why… God, why? Why do you keep bearing with us, instead of simply wiping the Earth clean and starting over?” And then I saw my boy in my mind, peering down at his drawing and seeing that it had been good. It was just smudged; it needed an eraser to take away the blots and make it possible to renew it. Just as God looked at us, and maybe He even considered starting over, but then He said “But it was GOOD… and it can be good again.” And so, the blood of Christ erased the blots and the hand of God has made us very good…again. Thank you, God…

9 responses to this post.

  1. What a beautiful illustration of God’s patient love for his handiwork–Us. Loved this! Thank you for taking time to write it down.

    Reply

  2. Wow, this was awesome Pam!! What a profound truth. I’m so grateful for His loving mercy and kindness that is new each morning.

    I’m so proud of your son too♥

    Reply

  3. Oh Pam. Thank you for this post. Thank you so much.

    I love when God gives us reminders like that.

    This feels like the wrong place to answer your question about my pictures, but thank you for your kind words. I feel the same way about yours. I think we are both shooting more often : ) how can we help but get better?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dana on September 10, 2010 at 7:56 am

    I LOVE this! Even when I can’t seem to find anything good or redeeming in humanity, God still says “but it’s too good to throw away!”

    Bless your son’s heart!

    Reply

  5. Thank you for sharing Pam!! I love it, what a beautiful reminder!! And I miss you – hope to see you soon!!

    Reply

  6. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. All of it.

    I love that you shared what God spoke to you. Thank you for letting us listen to His whisper too.

    Reply

  7. Wonderful writing; wonderful truth; wonderful lady.

    Love
    Becky

    Reply

  8. Bless you for these words.

    Reply

  9. Dear Pam,
    Dear sweet Pam,
    I can not tell you how your love and encouragement inspires me.
    You are a blessing to so many. Thank you for showing kindness to Sue. Thank you so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

