I Heart Faces Week 38–“Smirk”

e_MG_4489 smirk

Here’s what I Heart Faces has to say about this week’s theme: “A smirk refers to a smile evoking insolence, scorn, or offensive smugness. Whatever you think constitutes a “smirk” on someone’s face will be acceptable for this week’s challenge. We can’t wait to see what you all enter!”

So, I don’t really know quite what a smirk is, but I think that’s what these guys were giving me in this picture. I take a lot of pics at my son’s school and was shooting these boys in “spiritwear” to promote the school store. They patiently followed me all around the school in the blazing mid-morning heat, trying to find a little shade. We discovered this spot by a modular, and they dutifully looked up, down, at each other, smiled, looked serious. And then, suddenly, as I was snapping this shot, they broke out in a “sign”, full well knowing I couldn’t use this one for the promo. See those faces? Smug… yes, I think this just might be a smirk!
For more smirky, smug photos, head over to I Heart Faces and check out my fellow photog friends’ interpretations!

16 responses to this post.

  1. They definitely have smirks on their faces! What great models! And look at you : ) You have a photography ‘job.’ You know why you have it don’t you? Cause you are the super-est photographer at your school : ). And you are the super-est Mommy to your bug catcher. And the super-est neighbor to the pretty girls 🙂 Really, Pamalicious, there isn’t anything you aren’t super at.

    Great picture of smug boys : )

    Reply

  2. I would definitely call that a smirk! 🙂 great entry friend!

    Reply

  3. Great capture — I think boys are especially good at giving the camera a smirk 🙂

    Reply

  4. I agree with Sarah… boys are especially good at giving smirks! 🙂 Great shot you got there…. love the element of fun and playfulness in their smirks. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That is so a smirk;) Love this shot!

    Reply

  6. They have COOL oozing out of them!

    Reply

  7. That is what I call Smirk!! GREAT shot!!! 🙂

    Reply

  8. This is too cute!

    Lovely entry 🙂

    Have a happy day..

    K xx

    Reply

  9. Yep, they’re definitely smirking. Definitely caught a great moment! Great shot!

    Reply

  10. Great entry! Definite smirk going on here! Love it.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Dana on September 20, 2010 at 8:50 am

    HAHAHAHAHAHA I love the story BEHIND the photo! It just makes the photo that much better! This week was MADE for teenagers, huh? LOL

    (And yes, it was the umbrella from the beauty dish I was using in the reflection of the glasses. LOL)

    Reply

  12. I like this one a lot! Love their expressions, and it makes me feel something as well. Great shot!

    Reply

  13. what troopers they were!

    Reply

  14. love your entry!

    Reply

  15. Great job, Pam!

    Reply

  16. Very cool picture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

