Portrait lens…looking through His eyes

For my birthday in July, I got a new lens; a Tamron 18-270mm 3.5-6.3. It’s pretty much stayed on my camera for 3 months; I like the ability to stand in one place and frame up a variety of shots. But, my confidence in my ability as a photographer has been eroding, and I finally figured out why yesterday when I put my Canon 50mm 1.4 back on and took a few pictures.

e_MG_7019 Alexander wm

e_MG_7022 wm

e_MG_7016 wm

e_MG_7018 wm

e_MG_7021 wm

e_MG_7028 wm

e_MG_7027 wm

These were snapped off while kneeling under a canopy at carline; no posing, no real time spent, no fancy lighting. This lens blows the Tamron away, and it clarifies to me that if you look through the wrong lens, you cannot get a clear picture. I specifically prayed to God yesterday morning, asking for His guidance as to whether I should continue in photography. I felt a strong urge to change out the lenses, and now I know why. He wanted me to see through HIS eyes, clearly. Not just as a photographer, but as His child… to see things through His eyes is what I desire.
*UPDATE* And wouldn’t you know it; I was looking over this week’s Bible verse for Adam’s school, and the second verse is “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body witll be full of light.” Matthew 6:22. I hear you, God….

8 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my goodness – these are beautiful my friend!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shannon on October 5, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Gorgeous!! Honey you have tons of God given talent!! We aren’t supposed to bury that away. ;o)

    Reply

  3. Pamilicious. I wish I had your number so I could call you. Why were you doubting yourself even with the tamron? Your pictures are wonderful and they get better and better each week. I am so sad that you felt defeated : ( these pictures are brilliant.

    Always remember that it doesn’t really matter if you have a point and shoot or a humungo dslr; it doesn’t matter if you use piknik or cs5; what matters most is passion. And that is so obvious in your images. Love, becky lecturer who adores you so much I typed this comment out on my cell phone!

    Reply

  4. This is beautiful. I think God often calls us to him. I feel defeated all the time, and often want to quit after photo shoots. I just think at times that is God’s way of letting us hear and see what he wants. You are right on. This was such a wonderful reminder, Thank you.

    These pictures deserve a comment on their own. Just beautiful. The eyes of the Lord definitely shinning through.

    Love and hugs,

    Elaine

    Reply

  5. Hi Pam, I’m trying to visit a new blog every day before the end of the year, and today you’re my new visit 🙂 Came over from Pioneer Woman. Loved your photos and loved the way God gave you direction just when you needed it. Blessings to you!

    Reply

  6. Gorgeous Pam! I’m with Kaishon – why on earth would you think that… and I wish I could hop over to kick your tush in person (then hug you, thankyouverymuch).

    So glad He spoke to you with that confirmation!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Pam on October 6, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Wonderful shots P2. I have been viewing them on FB and loving what you are doing.

    Reply

  8. Awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

