I Heart Faces- Silhouettes

e_MG_5548 clone

The theme for the I Heart Faces contest this week is “Silhouettes”. I remember as a child having a silhouette done by an artist. They shined a light across the side view of my face, making a shadow on black paper on the wall. They then cut that paper into a silhouette of my face. It was a perfect likeness, but with no details. In photography, it’s really the same thing; the focal object of the picture is between the camera and the sun in such a way as to block out light. All (or nearly all) detail is lost, yet still, you know what you’re looking at. This picture was taken this fall in Destin, FL. We were on our boat, headed to Crab Island at sunset. I had a split second to grab the shot before we moved out of range; so glad that I got it. AND… so glad that our beloved white sands were spared the devastation that seemed inevitable just a couple of months before.
For more amazing silhouette shots, make sure to visit I Heart Faces and from there the blogs of those who linked up. I promise you’ll love it!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Love his profile! Love the sunlight glinting off everything like crazy!

    Reply

  2. Neat shot. Love the light dancing on the water.

    Reply

  3. I loved this picture the moment you first posted it. Its magical. I want you to win this week! I have my fingers andtoes crossed.

    Reply

  4. So pretty….love the reflections on the water. Very nice.

    Reply

  5. I love this. what great lighting it all has.

    Reply

  6. This makes me miss the beach. Beautiful!

    Reply

  7. So beautiful! It’s so magical.

    K xx

    Reply

  8. I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  9. STUNNING!!!

    Reply

  10. absolutely gorgeous and fun.

    Reply

  11. It looks great with the boy in silhouette, but the beach and the water still with detail. Wonderful entry 🙂

    Reply

  12. I am so glad you picked this one!!! Simply Perfect!

    Reply

  13. This is amazing! Wonderful photo.

    Reply

  14. One day he will look back at treasure this photo. I love how bright it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

