I Heart Faces-Black and White Landscape

BW Landscape2 lake

I don’t shoot landscapes with an eye for black and white conversion. I tend to focus on the colors that I see, rather than imagining the contrast and texture that black and white would bring. Converting this lake shot to black and white changed the feeling from dreamy to edgier and more mysterious; I think I may try more conversions, because I like what it does! How about you; do you always see your world in living color, or are you a black and white kind of person?
For more black and white entries, head over to I Heart Faces and check out the links…

25 responses to this post.

  1. Pam! I seriously LOVE this picture. I LOVE it so much. Truly enchanting. Perfect conversion. I see the world in color. I am not a big landscape seeker, but I will try to seek it more often as it surely is beautiful!

    And you know what else is beautiful? YOU AND YOUR PICTURES : )
    Hope your Thanksgiving was filled with joy!

    Reply

  2. Oh girl – this just positively GLOWS! I understand your pull toward color – (I mean, who wouldn’t with a kid like yours? 🙂 but holy smokes you rocked this B&W. I love it! And the movement of the water at the bottom right… the outlines of the leaves. Sigh… I wish I could be behind your shutter every once in awhile!

    Reply

  3. Very moody!

    Reply

  4. OH MY WORD! This seriously took my BREATH away! Pam! WOW! This is beyond words. You are magnificent! And your photography rocks too! 😀

    Reply

  5. I think I’m usually drawn to color, but B&W definitely has a place in my world too. 🙂 This is so dreamy and beautiful Pam!

    Reply

  6. Pam! This is amazing, seriously. I LOVE it! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I love this one! The light is amazing!

    Reply

  8. GORGEOUS! I love the leaves, the ripples, and the light on both. Really lovely.

    Reply

  9. Absolutely beautiful!! I love how you were able to capture so much detail (the ripples, reflections…) in a landscape shot. Gorgeous 🙂

    Reply

  10. Just plain WOW!!!!!!!! Seriously gorgeous photo and perfect conversion.

    Reply

  11. What a great picture! Love the clarity on the water – it looks so pristine!

    Tamar

    Reply

  12. I love the hazy feel of this image. Makes me feel like its a lazy summer afternoon.

    Reply

  13. Love the lighting and mood in this picture! It’s gorgeous!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Ginger on November 29, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Loved the mood this conversion creates!

    Reply

  15. I love what you’ve done with this, Pam!

    Reply

  16. This is a really wonderful photo!

    Reply

  17. Absolutely gorgeous! The leaves, the water, the rocks. I wish I could be right there with her!

    Reply

  18. that is amazing!

    Reply

  19. Posted by Jillian on November 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Love this photo! So surreal.

    Reply

  20. Great photo!!

    Reply

  21. Love this! almost wish i were there. it is almost like a haze across the water and the ripple at the edge of the water is lovely.

    Reply

  22. Nice Shot! Good Luck!

    Reply

  23. I really think this is one of my favorites. The framing is beautiful and the lighting is inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

