I Heart Faces–Winter Wonderland

_MG_0824 winter scene

Only a blanket of snow can transform a field of weeds into a Winter Wonderland…..

I always struggle with choices when it’s contest time. Close up? Posed shot? Girly and pretty, or gritty boy shot? But this one just clicked for me. This is our next door neighbor’s field. His wife passed away in 2003, and he died in 2009. His son comes over to mow the front yard and keep the place in shape, but this field, which used to be so lovingly plowed and harvested as a huge garden by Mr. Howard, has grown into a mess of weeds. Until we got 6 inches of snow last week (the most my boy has EVER seen at one time). In looking at this picture, all that keeps running through my mind are the words underneath the picture. I suppose that it’s the perfect visual for being “washed as white as snow”…

For more winter magic, click the button below to visit I Heart Faces and links to many, many other wonderful photos.

11 responses to this post.

  1. What a beautiful picture Pam. I love it. I love the weedy filled that is transformed by magical snow. I am glad Adam had such a great time with the snow! It sure is pretty.

    Reply

  2. very nice. looks so magical!

    Reply

  3. I love the painterly feel and the sharp face. It’s so nice to get a great boy picture!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dana on January 17, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Oh I LOVE your analogy! That’s exactly true….He covered all my ugly.

    LOVE this picture even more now!

    Reply

  5. This looks like an Andrew Wyeth painting! Great job! Really love how the blue sled pops with color!

    Reply

  6. Great shot!

    Reply

  7. that’s a bit of a sad story there! But a lovely photo!

    Reply

  8. Oh so so cool! 🙂 I didnt take any good snow pictures 😦 drat this pregnancy and sickness!

    Reply

  9. Hi Pam,
    I guess you guys got snowed in, too, huh? Wasn’t it something? I love this picture and how you’ve composed it. Best of luck!!!

    Reply

  10. I know exactly what you mean when you say it’s a good visual for being washed white as snow. Glad you all were able to get out and enjoy the snow. Was it hard for him to go back to the routine this week?

    Reply

  11. Super sweet! I love the whole fresh and clean feel.

    And who gave Adam permission to grow up like that?!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

