I Heart Faces– A Slice of Life

The theme at I Heart Faces this week is “Slice of Life”, or lifestyle photography. I wasn’t going to enter, because I just couldn’t nail it down in my mind. How many pictures do I take “in the moment”? Thousands, from wrestling to Scouts to school to home. I try to capture “natural moments” when I do photo shoots, too. And I am not the most decisive person, so choosing just one shot? accck. But, I took this photo last week at our school. One of our alums, Jacob Dennis, was killed in Afghanistan last summer, and the school dedicated a “fallen soldier” memorial to him, as well as naming the football field after him. It was a very special night; I love this quote in the Marietta Daily Journal by our headmaster, Todd Clingman. “You see schools name things after big donors,” Clingman said. “What bigger investment can a kid make than give his life for his country?” I took some pictures for the school, but this capture was completely spontaneous. As we were leaving the field, the setting sun illuminated the flag at half-mast, as well as the face of Jacob’s father. This is truly a slice of life that was bittersweet.

_MG_8289

For more “in the moment” photos, head over to I Heart Faces and check out the other entries. Thanks for stopping in…

11 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful photo, I love the colors, good luck!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leanna N on March 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Lovely!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dana on March 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    I was gonna say, after I saw you comment that you couldn’t figure this out….HOGWASH! HAHAHAHAHA! You do this kind of stuff ALL the time! You are a master! LOL

    I’m so glad you entered! And this photo is so beautiful….and touching! I just love everything about it. I so love your heart.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Austin on March 27, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Love the shot you chose!

    Reply

  5. Wow…great shot.

    Reply

  6. This picture is absolutely perfect Pam! And totally slice of life! I think sometimes the people that do slice of life might get confused about the title of what they are actually doing. Beautiful picture.

    Reply

  7. That picture captures the essence of what this week’s challenge is all about. You ROCK, Pam!

    Reply

  8. What a beautiful story to go with such a beautiful capture…you totally ROCK Pam D.!!!!!!!

    Reply

  9. Your photos always have a story… and this one just breaks my heart.

    So glad they saw the value in his sacrifice. And glad you were able to capture this moment for his father.

    Reply

  10. What a perfect shot and poignant post – glad you decided to enter my friend!

    Reply

  11. So beautiful. Gave me goose bumps and tears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

