I Heart Faces–Pets

_MG_0252 wm

This week’s theme at I Heart Faces is “Pets”. My favorite. I love photographing animals, whether it’s my dog, a deer or bird in the back yard, or some CRAAAZY bug that my boy captures. And, I love looking at everybody’s entries during Pet Week, too; so many sweet pups, cuddly kitties, and beasties of all kinds. This shot was taken last weekend at the Atlanta Steeplechase; the outriders came up to the fence to let us have a closer look at their magnificent steeds, and this fine fellow actually posed. Beautifully, I might add; what a head! It was a very bright yet overcast day, and the sky was totally blown out, so I added a Florabella sky texture that was a bonus with one of her sets. I think it makes it look like a vintage postcard.
Click the button below to head over to I Heart Faces and look at all of the other furry (or maybe even scaly, feathered, or exoskeletoned) critters (but please, leave some love first.. I love comments!)

28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dana on April 23, 2011 at 10:11 am

    OH MY WORD.

    Girl, seriously. This is stunning! You’ve got EVERYTHING right in this photo! It’s beautiful!

    UGH, and I’m stuck with a picture of a scorpion in a water bottle. 0_o Seriously. 😛

    Reply

  2. This is a really great picture Pam! I love your posing horse. I think this picture looks like it was done in 3d. Very cool! Wishing you the happiest Easter! Love, Becky

    Reply

  3. Becky is right – looks 3D!

    I adore this shot… and like Dana said – you got everything right. I love the processing… too perfect!

    And… just because I love horses – this guy is so easy to read! He’s alert and having a fun time – just look at his expression!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Janelle Rushin on April 24, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    What a beautiful portrait . . . such clarity! I also love the sky. Perfect!

    Reply

  5. Beautiful, horses are such majestic creatures!

    Tamar

    Reply

  6. I’m thinking Mr. Ed right now! Great processing!

    Reply

  7. I love horses and I love love this.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kay on April 24, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    AHHHH!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Rachelle Morrison on April 24, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Stunning portrait if my favorite breed of pet! I love how he is so proud and stands out so beautifully against the sky!

    Reply

  10. Absolutely gorgeous. Everything about your photo is stunning. Really, great work.

    Reply

  11. Stunning!!!

    Reply

  12. Going to be hard to compete with this picture…BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

  13. Very proud portrait of a handsome horse, Pam. Nice detail and cool use of textures!

    Reply

  14. Beautiful shot!

    Reply

  15. AMAZING I love this…I like the vintage feel and the power in his/her eyes.

    Reply

  16. Absolutely beautiful, regal, and the sky texture adds so much to it! As you can guess by my photography name, I love equestrian photography too, especially red chestnut horses! Thanks for sharing your entry!

    Reply

  17. Pam…you outdid yourself with this shot! Absolutely over-the-top BEAUTIFUL! Looks almost like it was captured back in the 50’s or 60’s.

    Reply

  18. Just gorgeous, stunning!

    Reply

  19. Gotta agree…this photo is phenomenal. Almost has an HDR look to it. Great job.

    Reply

  20. this is great! love the texture!

    Reply

  21. Love his little hat!!! 🙂 great photo!!!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Tavia on April 26, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Just gorgeous!! LOve, love!!

    Reply

  23. Love your post processing. And I doubt many others have posted horses! Fun.

    Reply

  24. Love this one! The sky texture and the colors are amazing!

    Reply

  25. I love this expression! It’s beautiful!

    Reply

  26. Really pretty, Pam!

    Reply

  27. Gorgeous! Love the sky and the catch lights.. amazing shot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

