I Heart Faces–Whimsy

What is “Whimsy”? One of the definitions is “A quaint or fanciful quality”, and that’s what I went with in picking my photo for this week’s contest. My boy spotted this nest when there were eggs in it (Mama and Daddy Robin apparently built it while school was out for spring break, not realizing that they were down low in a heavily trafficked area). I took pictures every day or two, documenting the hatching and the rapid growth of the babies. This photo was taken the night of the spring band concert; if my boy hadn’t been in the concert, I would have never been at the school at that time. When they were done, he and I went over to grab a few pictures of the baby birds. Within a minute of taking this photo, the first one suddenly spread its wings and flew right by my head, followed in rapid succession by all but one. It WAS a magical and whimsical moment for both my son and me.

IMG_2300

For more interpretations of what whimsy means, check out the links at I Heart Faces….

 

9 responses to this post.

  1. This is my favorite picture I have ever seen of yours! I love it.

    Reply

  2. This is truly a magical moment for a young boy…I love it, too.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dana on June 27, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I seriously LOVE this!! It is so incredibly crisp and sharp!! And I love how it’s all about the birds, but at the same time, it’s all about a son’s discovering and learning! It’s like a voyeuristic moment all caught in a beautiful photo! Man, Pam, this is really REALLY good!

    Reply

  4. Awesome, Pam! We have baby birds on our side porch, but they are about 9 feet up. I don’t think I’ll be capturing any cool pictures like this. I love how you worked whimsical in but still kept it all boy. Great entry!

    Reply

  5. Amazing! Love love love it. Special shot for sure

    Reply

  6. It’s PERFECT. One thing I know for sure……They are going to love this!

    Reply

  7. How incredible to have seen and experienced that! Love that you got the photo before !

    Reply

  8. Awesome, what a shot

    Reply

Leave a Reply

