I Heart Faces: Red, White, and Blue

Mother Nature messed with me last night. I intended to take a cool shot of my boy’s face lit by fireworks at the local fireworks show for my entry, but it rained, and the show was cancelled. So, I went through my archives and found these shots. They were taken last July at Georgia National Cemetery. These folks show up at military funerals to honor fallen soldiers by displaying flags during the ceremony. It was 100 degrees (literally) that day, with no shade to speak of. But in talking to some of them afterwards, they said it’s a small, small sacrifice in comparison to the person they are there to honor. I completely agree.

eIMG_1040

eIMG_1044

As we celebrate our independence, may we never forget the sacrifices that make it possible.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dana on July 5, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Oh I couldn’t agree more! What an honor to be holding that flag for someone who made such a huge sacrifice for us! BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Austin-Lee on July 5, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Love these shots!

    Reply

  3. Wow – that first shot is powerful… love it!

    Reply

  4. Love that first shot! My cousin was killed in Iraq and these people came to stand with flags at his funeral, too. It was 5 degrees and they stood out there all day. I don’t know how they stayed warm…but they usually refused coffee or hot chocolate. It was so comforting to all of us to have them care so much.

    Reply

  5. Wow. I think it was a God thing that you chose these ones… goosebumps.

    Reply

  6. How absolutely beautiful. What a blessed thing to do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

