The more things change….

You know who this is, right? And why he’s called “Bug Hunter” for all of the first years that I blogged… right?

IMG_3779

And you know he’s in middle school now don’t you? I know, I don’t blog anymore, other than photo contests. So maybe you missed that little tidbit; the boy is growing up. Middle school. 6th grade. No more carline numbers, no more room moms, and hello salad bar and a la carte. And yet…
Yesterday, I went for a walk and when I came back, the answering machine was blinking. When I checked the message, it was from one of the middle school deans, and it was static-y and garbled. “Adam is *static*.. and it’s *static* emergency. *static* try your cell phone.” ??? So I ran to get my cell and there was a message. Fortunately, it was NOT an emergency (does anyone remember the x-ray from the little playground incident back in the spring? If so, then you KNOW why my heart was pounding a little bit). The dean said something about bees, and his backpack, and endangering other children. And that he wasn’t in trouble.. THIS time. And that she would call my husband since she couldn’t reach me. I looked on caller ID and he had tried to call after the school phone call, so I knew she had reached him. I called, and he said that the dean was very nice, but that Adam had brought some bees into the classroom, and they were afraid that a child with an allergy might get stung. So while there would be no consequences this time, if there was a next time…. not good. He was supposed to talk to us when he got home and then go back to her today to tell her what we talked about.
I know my son. I know that he would find a million excuses to not go back and talk to her. OR he would find a way to play what we said against what she said so that he would have free license to bug hunt on school time. So, I parked instead of getting him in carline, and I went in and waited. And when he came down, I took him for a little “stroll” around the school while we discussed the events of the day. And then I took him upstairs to the dean (to his great mortification) so that we could all make sure we were on the same page. Both the counselor and the principal were laughing. I think the principal might even have asked if I was there to pick up Adam’s hornets. And I am very thankful that he goes to a school where the faculty and staff know and value him for who he is. But I am also very thankful that I went in with him to see the dean. Because in about ten minutes’ time, he had her wrapped around his finger to the point that she was suggesting that he carry a bug container with him at all times. Which I promptly nixxed. He has five minutes to get from class to class; I cannot even imagine the grief I’d be dealing with if he thought it was OK to bug hunt along the way. He’s been bug crazy since he was about 18 months old; for the past ten years, this has been our norm. I kind of hoped that he would pull back a little on the need to stalk and capture insects, but apparently the more things change…the more they stay the same. *sigh* I do love my bug boy…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Such a sweet post Pam! Your bug hunter is a little gem. That is really funny about the bees. Who would think anyone would take them to school : ) He is a cutie! I don’t really love my baby growing up so much either : (

    Reply

  2. Trying out another blog?? LOL…love the pic.
    Tell the bug hunter that I said hello!

    Reply

  3. What a dear story. And what a dear boy you have.

    Since I stay as far away from bugs as is physically possible I am glad to know that there still Professional Bug Hunters around to take up the slack for me.

    Love ya!

    Reply

  4. Coudn’t help but giggle a bit… I miss those Bug Hunter stories! (Even if the pictures did make me gasp on a regular basis!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

