House of Mirrors

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a truly blog-worthy thought. Or maybe it’s just been a long time since I’ve been willing to sit down and write it down.  I don’t even know that I can get this thought down, but I’m going to try.

I’ve watched various friends face challenges and fears lately, and I’ve loved seeing them come out on the other side of fear, finding many good things there.  Tonight, I was thinking about a lovely young friend who was dreading college and all that she would leave behind here to go there, and this thought popped into my head.  Fear is like the house of mirrors at a fair.  Its whole purpose is to confuse you and turn you around; to smack you down, so that you drag yourself back to the start instead of making it all the way through to the end.  Satan strategically places those mirrors… erroneous reflections of things that aren’t really there, so that you’ll get turned around. So that you’ll wander, and wonder, and eventually whimper back to what seems like a safe place.  But if you push ahead; if you take your time; if you look UP, to where the mirrors meet the ceiling… THEN you can find your way through that maze of fear and out the door to where life awaits you.

And as these thoughts tumbled through my mind, I remembered a time several years ago when Adam and a friend were running through a house of mirrors.  They were chasing each other, back and forth. At one point, Adam was running AWAY from his friend, and he ran hard into a mirror.  It knocked him down, and it knocked the breath clear out of him.  His friend helped him up and led him out, back to safety.  Isn’t that just like us?  Running away from God while satan does his best to trick us?  If we would only FOLLOW, instead of running away, life would be so much easier.  We’d have less bumps and bruises, and the journey wouldn’t be so stressful.  And yet, even when we run away, He chases us and wants to catch us.  When we hit a wall, if we’ll just let Him pick us up, dust us off, and lead us out, we will still be OK.  Sometimes I feel like I’m in that mirrored maze; I just need to remember; stop running, and look UP.

3 responses to this post.

  1. What a great post.
    Thanks for reminding me.
    Sending love to your friend.
    I hope she loves college to pieces.
    Boys and love are great : ) but honestly, college is the BEST 4 years of your life…until you have kids. So, I hope she relishes it. Meet new friends. Have fun. Rock it out! Education is priceless.

    Reply

  2. I sure needed to read this today, Pam…thank you so much for always sharing from your HEART!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

